Skip to content


The CAAV Committees are responsible for technical matters, responding to consultations and issues raised in practice as well as developing CAAV numbered publications (often through working parties involving skilled members from outside the Committee).

Members are welcome to put general questions of principle and general professional interest to the Committees as well as contributions to consultation responses and discussion drafts. However queries relating to any specific individual case a member may be handling should be directed to the CAAV Secretariat.

The Committee Structure is shown below (click to enlarge or view pdf):

The Committees are:


Chairman – Charles Meynell Tel: 01785 273999 Email:

Committee members – Nick Millard (Vice Chairman), David Brooks, Martin Hall, Julie Liddle, Richard Stagg, The President, the Vice-Presidents and Immediate Past President and Jeremy Moody for the Secretariat.

Education and Examinations

Chairman – David Steel Tel: 01723 866603 Email:

Vice Chairman – Andrew Wallace

Committee members – Edward Buckland, Rob Close, Scott Edmondson, Martin Hall, David Lewis, Ruth Ofield, Harriet Riggall, Hannah Skingley, Morgan Williams and Jeremy Moody (Convenor) for the Secretariat.

Farming and Environment

Chairman – Jo Merritt Tel: 01237-451-044 Email:

Convenor – Kate Jennings

Committee members – Andy Dyer, Hayden Foster, Richard King, Alastair Leake (GWCT), James Sealy, Alastair Sneddon, Andrew Wallace, Hugh Baker, Mark Webb, Penny Stokes and Jeremy Moody and Flossy Freeman-Inglis for the Secretariat.


Chairman – Julie Liddle Tel: 01768 254354 Email:

Convenor – Paul Williamson

Committee members – Eifion Bibby (Vice Chairman), Rebecca Horne, Charles Meynell, Josh Pollock, Ian Thornton-Kemsley, Matt Stuart, Ben Sharples, Paul Smith, Belinda Littler, Giles Hunt, Hannah Matthew and Jeremy Moody, Rebecca Collins and Flossy Freeman-Inglis for the Secretariat.

Valuation, Compensation and Taxation

Chairman – Roger Bedson Tel: 01785 850866 Email:

Convenor – James Dick

Committee members – John Ikin (Vice Chairman) Andrew Coney, Philip Coles, Geoff Coster, Edward Briggs, Andrew Highwood, Andrew Lane, Nick Millard, Vicki Oliver, Philip Pollard, John Unterhalter, Charles Cowap, Michael Townsend, Shaun Irvine, Charles Birch, Christian Green, Andrew Robertson, Emma Williams and Jeremy Moody, Rebecca Collins and Flossy Freeman-Inglis for the Secretariat.


Chairman – Jane Mitchell Tel: 07977 096621 Email:

Administrative Secretary - Debbie Edmondson

Committee members – Mark Fogden (Vice President/Chairman) Ian Austin, James Begg, Ben Burbridge, Rob Forrest, Martin Hall, Larry Irwin, Andrew Linehan, David Mitchell, Hannah Matthew, Rachel Newton, Andrew Robertson, Christopher Savage, Catherine Smith, Ian Thornton-Kemsley, Alice Wilson, Debbie Edmondson, and Jeremy Moody for the Secretariat.


Chairman – Richard Williams Tel: 01244 571815 Email:

Secretary - Gary Owen

Committee members – Emma Williams (N. Wales AVA Chairman), Richard Evans, Ian Howell, Chris Hyde, Aled Jones (S. Wales AVA Chairman), Jeremy Liley, Irving Parry, Kathryn Perkins, Gwilym Richards, Andrew Thomas, Rosie Wilson, Tudor Watkins, Lloyd James, Rhian Jardine, Sarah Wedge and Jeremy Moody and Flossy Freeman-Inglis for the Secretariat.

Northern Ireland

Chairman - Tim Martin Tel: 02897 568300 Email:

Vice Chairman/Treasurer - Scott Edmondson

Secretary - Mary-Louise Press

Committee members - Richard Crowe, Matt Stuart, Ken Crawford, Douglas Gibson, Gareth Gibson, Shaun Irvine, Peter Brown, Margo Rogan, Richard Aldworth and Jeremy Moody for the Secretariat.